Ballybunion Castle Ruins, Co. Kerry
Enable JavaScript in order to use Google Maps.
Loading data...

Description

The castle was built by the Fitzmaurices in the 14th century and served as the abode of the heir apparent of that family until the middle of the 16th century. It stands on the Castle Green site of an old promontory coastal fort of the "Clann Conaire." In 1582 the castle had been acquired from the Geraldines by the Bonyon (Bunnion) family. In 1583 William Og Bonyon lost the castle and lands due to his part in the Desmond Rebellion. In 1612 the castle and lands were granted to Thomas Fitzmaurice 16th Lord of Kerry and Lixnaw by the English King James 6th. By 1783 Richard Hare was in possession of the castle. From 1923 onwards the castle has gone under the care of the Office of Public Works. It was destroyed in the Desmond Wars. All that remains today is this East Wall. It stands as a memorial to the Bonyons, a proud and powerful family from whom today's beautiful coastal town of Ballybunion takes its name.

The waters and surrounding countryside of this picturesque area have won the European Blue Flag award. This award is an acknowledgment by the European union to regions that achieve a standard of water quality that is free of pollution. This award is subject to yearly renewal and therefore guarantees continued environmental quality in areas such as Ballybunion that achieve the standard of this award. This fact makes Ballybunion and the surrounding coastline ideal for the harvesting of sea vegetables such as dulse (dillisk/sea grass/Palmaria palmata) and Irish moss (carrageen moss/Chondrus crispus) providing a product of a quality and with a flavour which we are sure is unsurpassable.

More about Irish Castles you will find HERE.

Admission

Free

Not much remained of the castle
Fantasy...
Evening light...
All that remains today of Ballybunion is the East Wall