Kilcoe Castle, Co. Cork
Enable JavaScript in order to use Google Maps.
Loading data...

Description

Built ca. 1450 by the Clan Dermod MacCarthy, it has always been one of the best preserved castles in West Cork. In more recent times, the castle has been extensively restored by its present owners actor Jeremy Irons and his actress wife Sinéad Cusack. The controversial color wash that adorns the castle, has apparently been thoroughly researched, and is considered authentic.

The name Kilcoe comes from Cill Coiche (Church of St. Coch. a nun supposed to have been companion of St. Kieran) and is referred to as Cellcohi in the Decreatal Letter of 1199. The remains of the church are near to the castle.

Kilcoe Castle was built in the 15th century at the height of Clan Dermod prosperity and was the residence of the chief. It is located on the small rocky island of Mannin Beg overlooking Roaring Water Bay.

Although it was always called Kilcoe Castle it is strictly speaking a Tower House. These were not castles in the pure military sense but functioned as fortified private residences of the local chiefs and families. Both terms are used in the text. The article in the Mizen Journal 1999 on Dunmanus Castle considered various aspects of the use and details of Tower Houses.

The text above is from the article “Kilcoe Castle and Clan Dermod MacCarthy” by John Hawkes published in the Mizen Journal.

More about Irish Castles you will find HERE.

The 15th century tower house
Quite controversial color wash...