Moor (Moore) Franciscan Abbey / Friary, Galbally, Co. Tipperary
Enable JavaScript in order to use Google Maps.
Loading data...

Description

The ruins of the Moore abbey are situated at the western end of Aherlow Valley, about 1km east from Galbally village. At the time of its foundation, the ‘abbey’ was one of several names applied to any religious house for monks.
Moore abbey was founded in 1204 by the King of Thomond, Donough Gairbreach O'Brien as a Franciscan abbey. The abbey took three hundred years to complete. It was burned four times during the course of building, by the marauding armies of Desmond and Ormond. It was burned to the ground in 1472 and rebuilt in 1473. After its suppression in 1540, the new owner, the Earl of Desmond, left the friars in peace until Sir Humphrey Gilbert burned the building in 1569 and Sir Henry Sidney again in 1570. The friars did not return until 1645. Expelled by the Cromwellians, they were back in 1658 and remained (with a short break during 1680-4) until 1748. Following a rather complicated dispute with Fr. James Butler, V.G. of Cashel diocese, the friars of Galbally withdrew across the mountains to Mitchelstown, where the last friar of Galbally community died, probably in 1804.

More about Monastic Sites in Ireland you will find HERE.

Located

The site is about 1km to the east of the village Galbally on the R663 Road.

Admission

Free