Old Castle Hackett Ruins, Co. Galway
Enable JavaScript in order to use Google Maps.
Loading data...

Description

Castle Hackett was home to the Hackett family, who arrived with the Normans, and built this tower house in the 15th century. The Hacketts (Hacaed, Haiceid) came to Ireland with the Anglo-Norman invasion in the 12th century, settling in what is now Counties Kildare, Carlow and Kilkenny. They are well known in Anglo-Irish records, and one of them, Peter Hackett, was Archbishop of Cashel in 1385. In the 16th century the Castlehackett and Cahermorris estates near Tuam in Co. Galway belonged to a branch of the Burkes of Clanricarde. These Burkes lost this estate under the Cromwellian regime and moved to a smaller estate at nearby Ower. Townlands of the Hackett name appear as Ballyhackett or Hackettstown in Counties Dublin and Kildare, and Hackettstown, County Carlow is still extant. A branch settled in Connacht and became Gaelicized, forming a small sept known as MacHackett. Some of these were known as Guckian. This part of the county was part of the O'Flaherty's lands but after the Norman invasion they were forced to move across the lake to their other territories in the Connemara. The original 13th century 2-storey hall-house with its deeply battered base, had its 3rd and 4th storeys added in a late 16th century remodelling. The upper levels have remains of hoodmoulded two or three light windows, there are square bartizans at the southwest and northeast corners. The castle continued to be occupied until 1703. The Kirwans built a new 3 story house called Castlehacket which was burned in 1923 during the Civil War but rebuilt and still stands today.

More about Irish Castles you will find HERE.