A light was first looked for by the Coast Guard in 1843. The Board favoured a beacon but the project was postponed towards the end of 1845 due to difficulties in obtaining the ground. By June 1848 the tower was complete and fitted up as a Harbour Light. The light was first established on 1st June 1855. Broadhaven Lighthouse was converted to unwatched acetylene on 1st December 1931 and on the 21st September 1977 it was converted to electric operation. The station is in the care of an Attendant who visits the station regularly to carry out routine duties.
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel and Camping within 5.7 km
Valley House Holiday Hostel and Pub, Achill Island within 28.8 km
Lavelle's Golden Strand Caravan and Camping Park within 29.3 km