Abbeyderg Augustinian Abbey of St. Peter, Co. Longford
The Augustinian monastery was founded in the 13th century by Gormgall O'Quinn. It was destroyed in 1567. The remains of Maiolin O'Mulgonry, who has been described as Chief Ollamh and poet of Ireland were buried here. There is the opinion that a convent, or monastery, was in existence in Abbeyderg from soon after the time of Saint Patrick
Abbeydorney (Kyrie Eleison) Abbey, Cistercian, Co. Kerry
Abbeydorney Abbey was founded by the O Torna, chieftain of the region, in 1154 for the Cistercians from Monasteranenagh. The abbey was the daughter-house of Nenay Abbey in County Limerick, and was the only medieval Cistercian house in County Kerry.
Abbeyknockmoy / Knockmoy Cistercian Abbey, Co. Galway
Abbeyknockmoy was originally a Cistercian abbey founded in 1190 by the King of Connacht, Cathal Crobhdearg Ua Conchobair. The abbey was decorated by medieval wall paintings, traces of which survive in the presbytery. The monastery was plundered by William de Burgo in 1200.
Abbeylara Abbey, Cistercian, Co. Longford
Abbeylara was founded in 1205 by an Anglo-Norman lord, Richard de Tuit, not far from his castle at Granard. Richard was killed by a stone falling from Athlone Castle not long after he made his foundation.
Abbeymahon Cistercian Abbey, Co. Cork
It is a ruined abbey situated near Timoleague. It was founded in 1172 by Dermot MacCormac MacCarthy, King of Desmond. The site was originally at Aghamanister and was colonized with a group of Cistercian monks from Baltinglass.
Abbeyshrule Cistercian Abbey, Co. Longford
The Abbey was founded in 1150 by the O'Farrells, the local Irish chieftains. It was the 5th Cistercian foundation in Ireland. The abbey flourished for over 250 years, surviving an attempt to burn it down by an English army in 1476. It was closed by King Henry VIII. Some of the remains of the abbey still exist.
Adare Augustinian Friary (Black Abbey), Co. Limerick
The Adare Friary, located in Adare, County Limerick, formerly known as the "Black Abbey", is an Augustinian Friary founded in 1316 by the Earl of Kildare. It is now known as "St. Nicholas' Church of Ireland" parish church, and school.
Adare Franciscan Friary, Co. Limerick
Begun in 1464 and dedicated to St. Michael the friary (now in ruin), located in the heart of the Adare Manor Golf Club, is still beautifully preserved with numerous gables.
Aghaboe Augustinian Dominican Abbey / Priory, Co. Laois
Aghaboe Abbey was founded by St Canice in 576. The astronomer St. Virgilius, also known as St. Feargal, was its abbot in the 700's before he left Ireland, going on to become Bishop of Salzburg. After the original monastery burned in 1234, it was rebuilt as an Augustinian priory.
Aghadoe Church and Round Tower, Co. Kerry
This is a very nice church with a good example of a Romanesque doorway. The 13th and 17th century carvings are interesting. The broken ogham stone adds a bit more historial charm to the place.