Ballaghmore Castle, Co. Laois
It was built in 1480 by the Irish chieftain MacGiollaphadraig, translated as "Son of the Servant of Patrick" and nowadays conveniently called Fitzpatrick. It was restored in 1836 by Richard Ely who found a gold treasure on the land. The castle can be rented for events weekly or weekends.
Ballyadams Castle Ruins, Co. Laois
There is some evidence to suggest, that the castle was built around the end of the 15th century by Adam O'More. The two tall round towers date from around this time and are the oldest part of the present structure.
Castle Durrow Hotel, Co. Laois
It is now one of Ireland's most luxurious 4-star Country House Hotels. Built by Capt. William Flower (later to become Viscount Ashbrook) in 1716 as his family home, it is pre-Palladian in design. It is also Ireland's leading Castle Wedding Venue.
Castlecuffe Castle Ruins, Co. Laois
The castle now in ruins was a castellated mansion built by the first Sir Charles Coote on lands obtained from Tadgh O'Dunne about the year 1560. The castle is in a very bad state and only portions of the gable ends survive along with the huge Jacobean-type chimney stacks and associated fireplaces.
Lea / Leghe Castle Ruins, Co. Laois
It was a great Norman castle built in about 1260 by William de Vesey. About 1320 it came into the possession of the O'Dempseys. In 1452 the O'Moores took it from the O'Dempseys. In 1533 it was in the possession of the FitzGeralds. Cromwellian troops finally wrecked it in 1650. The remains are a keep, corner tower, walled court yard, wards, and double-towered gate building.
Rock of Dunamase Castle Ruins, Co. Laois
Originally used as a fort Dun Masc in the 9th century, the site was already identified as a strategic priority. The castle was built on the same site by the Anglo-Normans who arrived in the late 12th century. It was granted to Strongbow in 1170 by Dermot MacMurrough.