Aghaboe Augustinian Dominican Abbey / Priory, Co. Laois
Aghaboe Abbey was founded by St Canice in 576. The astronomer St. Virgilius, also known as St. Feargal, was its abbot in the 700's before he left Ireland, going on to become Bishop of Salzburg. After the original monastery burned in 1234, it was rebuilt as an Augustinian priory.
Athenry Dominican Friary / Priory of St. Peter and St. Paul, Co. Galway
It was founded in 1241 probably by Myler de Bermingham who was buried here in 1252. St Dominic is said to have asked for it to be built. Both the Native Irish and the colonising Anglo-Normans co-operated in sponsoring the construction work. In 1652 Cromwells soldiers wrecked the Abbey.
Ballindoon Dominican Friary / Abbey, Co. Sligo
The friary was founded in 1507 probably by Thomas O'Farrell and stands today Overlooking Lough Arrow as a complete 16th century ruin with no later appendages. It is a rectangular church with a central tower and a small north transept. The roof is gone and the interior has been used for burials over the years but otherwise, it is in a well-preserved state.
Black Abbey Dominican, Kilkenny, Co. Kilkenny
The priory was founded in 1225 by William Marshall the Younger, Earl of Pembroke as one of the first houses of the Dominican Order in Ireland. It was restored to its former glory in the nineteenth century enabling it to be reopened as a church. At the Abbey entrance, one can find a series of monumental slabs and stone coffins dating from the middle ages.
Burrishoole Dominican Abbey / Friary, Co. Mayo
Burrishoole Friary was founded in 1470 by Richard de Burgo of Turlough, Lord MacWilliam Oughter. It was built without the permission of the Pope. In 1486, the Pope instructed the Archbishop of Tuam to forgive the Friars. Richard de Burgo resigned his lordship in 1469 and entered the friary he had founded where he remained a friar until his death four years later.
Carlingford Dominican Friary / Priory, Co. Louth
Under the patronage of Richard de Burgo, Earl of Ulster the Dominican order established the Friary in 1305; it was dedicated to St. Malachy. It was dissolved under Henry the Eight in 1530. Reoccupied by the Dominicans in the early 18th Century.
Castlelyon Friary, Carmelite, Dominican, Co. Cork
Founded in 1307, by John de Barry for the Carmelite Friars, and dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary. The present ruins probably date from the 15th century. During the Penal times, the Carmelites, Franciscans and Dominicans were associated titularly or otherwise with the Priory.
Drogheda Dominican Friary / Magdalene Tower, Co. Louth
This historic tower stands on Droghedaís highest ground and it can be seen for miles around. Itís all thatís left of an important Dominican Friary, founded by the Archbishop of Armagh in 1224. It was here that the Chiefs of Ulster and Leinster expressed submission to Richard II in the 14th century.