Ardnakinna Lighthouse, Bere Island, Co. Cork
The tower was originally constructed here in 1850 as an unlit beacon at the western side of Bere Island and at the entrance to Castletownbere Harbour. It was in the care of a local man. The caretaker remained until 1863 when the tower was capped. The beacon was converted to a full lighthouse by adding an ex-lightship lantern in 1965.
Baily / Bailey Lighthouse, Howth, Co. Dublin
A coal burning beacon was established at Howth Head in 1667 by Sir Robert Reading. The first proper tower was built here in 1790 by Thomas Rogers. It was placed high up on a hill from the current structure. It was replaced by the current tower, lower down on the headland at the Little Baily.
Balbriggan Lighthouse, Co. Dublin
The lighthouse has been without a lantern since 1960. This second oldest working lighthouse in Ireland was built in 1761. It has a cast-iron railed walkway supported by console surrounding lantern. Access is through an adjoining single-bay single-story building with steps up to entrance level.
Ballinacourty Lighthouse, Co. Waterford
It was built in 1858 on request of merchants and ship owners to help guide ships into Dungarvan Bay. The light was converted to acetylene in 1929 and to electric in 1964. There is no direct route to this site, as it is bounded by a golf course and private property. The only way is to walk from one of several access points further northeast past Ballinacourty Point. It is a 30 mins walk from Clonea beach, which has lots of parking place. Check tide times, as navigation over some of the rocks may be blocked during high tide.
Ballycotton Lighthouse, Ballycotton Island, Co. Cork
Situated on the steep sloped Ballycotton Island approximately 1,5km from the village, the lighthouse was commissioned in 1851. George Halpin had designed the lighthouse and dwellings. The tower was painted black in 1902. In 1975 the light was converted to electricity.
Black Head Lighthouse, Co. Clare
The most northerly tip of County Clare is Blackhead, lying northwest of Gleninagh Mountain and forms the turning point where the southern shore of Galway Bay changes from east west to northeast southwest.
Blackhead Lighthouse, Co. Antrim
This octagonal tower was designed by William Douglass and completed in 1902 and was originally painted red but later in 1929 the colour was changed to white. The main contractor was William Campbell and Sons. In 1965 it was converted to electric. The light keepers residences are fully restored and now available as Holiday Properties.
Blacksod Lighthouse, Co. Mayo
It was built in 1864 from local granite blocks. It is of unusual design for a lighthouse, being a square block of a building with only a small conical lantern section on top of it which is painted white. Although it is easily accessible as it is beside Blacksod Pier, it is not open to the general public. The light was converted to electric on 31st May 1967. In 1969 Blacksod became the helicopter base for Eagle Island and Blackrock.
Broadhaven / Ballyglass Lighthouse, Co. Mayo
The lighthouse tower was complete by June 1848 and fitted up as a Harbour Light. The light was first established on 1st June 1855. Broadhaven Lighthouse was converted to unwatched acetylene on 1st December 1931 and on the 21st September 1977 it was converted to electric operation. The station is in the care of an Attendant who visits the station regularly to carry out routine duties.